This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

6.8 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
6.7
Comfort
6.7
Property Location
7.5
Facilities
5.8
Staff
7.6
Value
6.7
Reviews
    Tony
    us
    2.9
    November 20, 2017
    How about 1 word...Poor
    Dirty, cheap everything inside, smelled this place has gone down hill significantly. We used to stay here once a year to visit family but now its so bad. We heard there has been new management in the last few years and the owners are very very cheap.
    At least the facilities worked
    elyse
    us
    6.7
    October 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    us
    5.0
    October 12, 2017
    Convenient but underwhelming.
    Hotel feels neglected. Carpets are dirty and some need to be re-glued or you'd trip over them. Has a dated, "a big chain walked away from this property" feel. Computers were down for days; I have no receipt via email, 4 days after departure. Breakfast area is sparse, and you need to go to another room to use a microwave. No ice machines to be found.
    Price. Nearness to interstate.
    us
    5.0
    October 9, 2017
    Looks like the property has not been well cared for. Pool has not been open for quite a while
    Anna Marie
    us
    10
    October 2, 2017
    We enjoyed our stay
    Great room. enjoyed breakfast.
    Thomas
    us
    5.0
    September 28, 2017
    Am I on an episode of Hotel Hell?
    My family members have stayed at Nichols Village five years ago for my wedding, and they thoroughly enjoyed their experience. Since we moved out of the area & began planning our trip to visit family in Virginia, we thought booking Nichols Village would be a great idea, even if it was just for a night. A lot has changed within five years, and unfortunately not for the better. Walking into the hotel lobby, there were outdated pamphlets in their "tourist attractions" area (coupons that expired in mid-2016). There's waterstains? all over the ceiling, the carpet is haggard and-frankly-a tripping hazard. We had to wait about fifteen minutes to check in (granted, we knew we were arriving late at night, around 10 PM). However, the receptionist was very nice and polite. The first room we originally booked was dirty and outdated. There were blood spots on the sheets, coffee? stains on the comforter, dead bugs (and a booger) in the lampshades, stains on the curtains (which were crudely stapled together), stains all over the carpet-among other things. We lifted the mattress to check for bedbugs (because, at this point, I was assuming there's other issues), and there was a dirty/dusty filter for the air conditioner (which was not working properly) underneath the saggy, tired mattress. I almost felt as if we were on the show, Hotel Hell, or if we were on Candid Camera. The room was absolutely terrible. We asked the receptionist for another room, and she was helpful and accommodating-but the first impression tainted the rest of our stay. The continental breakfast was...sad. From what I experienced five years ago, the breakfast used to be phenomenal. Bacon, breakfast sausage, scrambled eggs, omelettes, etc. But this breakfast consisted of a couple of bagels wrapped up in plastic wrap and some toast. This is sufficient for my wife and myself, but it was disappointing, to say the least.
    The late-night receptionist was friendly, professional, and accommodating. After we requested to change rooms, she gave us a better room (one that was actually clean), and it made our stay better.
    us
    4.6
    September 21, 2017
    Sad and disappointing
    It is very sad. We have stayed there several times in the last 10 years and each time it has deteriorated more. 3 years ago we were told the pool was temporarily closed. Well, it still is. The breakfast wasn't much at all. Bread for toast..sign on toaster said only left side worked...cold cereal...3 muffins...some bagels...juice...and coffee or tea. The coffee was good. We were in there about 20 minutes after opening and 3 other people in there drinking coffee. Our room was clean but toilet didn't flush properly. We saw only 2 staff people while we were there...a young man at the desk checked us in and a young lady at the desk the next morning who checked us out and kept the coffee dispenser filled. Oh, and the ice machines were all out of order, so to get ice you have to ask at the desk and they will give you a half filled ice container.
    Burger King, McDonalds, Wendys, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Dominos, Subway, and a food store Weiss, all within walking distance...and don't forget Krispy Kreme!!
    us
    10
    September 8, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Peter
    us
    4.6
    August 21, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    9.2
    August 15, 2017
    I had a nice quiet stay it was just what I was looking for
    ?????
    us
    6.7
    August 10, 2017
    It was OK.
    There was an invasion of ANTS in the room!
    us
    7.5
    July 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Philly traveler
    us
    6.7
    July 15, 2017
    So so experience
    Fitness room - most equipment was broken - the treadmill did a dead stop after 8 minutes and I almost fell. Pool was closed. Rug in room was dirty. Hot water was rusty in sink. Decaf coffee for breakfast was not good.
    Comfortable bed, quiet room. OJ was good.
    William
    us
    3.8
    July 14, 2017
    The Summit's Jewel in serious decline!
    This is now a pretty run down property. Once a jewel of Clarks Summit - its now in pretty sorry condition! From first moment climbing steps into lobby of the Summit's historical "most impeccable" retail property was a big downer and I never recovered my jaw-dropping dismay of how an owner perceives "value" in offering such a lousy product. Relatives and friends of owner must post the positive reviews!
    Nothing.
    Robert
    us
    5.0
    June 27, 2017
    Overall the hotel seemed to be in a run down condition. We had previously stayed there many times. Entering the room was a challenge - the key cards had to be inserted several times in order to get the green light. The bathroom toilet was stained - a rubber band held a towel rack in place - the wall paper was separating from the wall in the bathroom - breakfast offerings were minuscule- pool was under repair - ice machines didn't work - grounds were NOT well kept - gardening was lacking - for what we paid we deserved better :-( :-( :-(
    Staff was friendly and helpful
    Robert
    us
    7.5
    June 26, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Julie
    us
    9.2
    February 17, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Richard
    us
    9.2
    February 14, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    8.3
    January 14, 2017
    We both found the bed to be uncomfortable. This is the first time we experienced this at NV, and it probably will prevent us from booking here again. Also, the pool is not open, and hasn't been for months.
    We have stayed several times before. It is set up to be peaceful, despite being very close to the highway.
    Julie
    us
    10
    January 1, 2017
    Home away from home.
    Nichols Village staff are the friendliest people. If you are away from home they will make you feel like you are home!
Loading reviews...
Close